Why I write (Prompt)

PROMPT: Celebrate your creative self, the writer inside you. Write about how writing is an important part of your life. Write about the pleasure it brings. Write about your gratitude in possessing such a gift. Shakespeare once wrote the following: This is a gift I have, simple, simple; a foolish extravagant spirit, full of forms, figures, shapes, objects, ideas, apprehensions, motions, revolutions …. But the gift is good in those in whom it is acute, and I am thankful for it.
Heffron, Jack (2011-12-15). The Writer’s Idea Book 10th Anniversary Edition: How to Develop Great Ideas for Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Screenplays (Kindle Locations 330-334). F+W Media, Inc.. Kindle Edition.

10:20pm 4/27/2012
      Writing is a part of my life that carried me through my teenage years. Everything was composed in my head as a linguastic art form. I had dozens of thesaurus’s and dictionarys at my reach. I wrote before I had a laptop to make it easy. I wrote on paper with a pen. I would write on the family desktop and save it.

    I published my own book, more like, printed out five copies and gave it to five important people(Mom, Mack, Mrs.Oden, Charlotte and I think myself). It was called a tour of my heart. It was poems, arranged alphabetically ranging from age 14(?) until the year I printed the book, which I suspect was age 18, 2007.

    I think the point that I really STOPPED writing was one time mom found all my in notebook writings and copied them at work. Without my knowing or asking, she looked for them when I was at camp for a week. She also took copies of pages from my diarys. This was when I was 18. She had them all saved in a folder in the garage. I had found it on accident, it was double and triple copies of stuff. none of my good writing either, just stuff that was my depressing moments. Because moments with strong enotion are easiest to write about. So anyway, I had found them. I was so hurt that she STOLE these things from me and had my drs name written on the folder that I went out to the field and I burned the copies. It was really the moment my writer part was smashed. If I couldnt keep my feelings to me? my work to me? there was no worth in it.

     Strange though, that it was fall that year that I got my own laptop even, I still didnt pick up writing as much. My heart was broke, my spirit was crushed over the entire thing.

     I used to journal online on a blog called GreatestJournal. I had blogger friends, I was a part of communitys. I updated something like 3 times a day sometimes. I adored it. Charlotte printed out all of the journals and i have them in a HUGE book she made me one year for christmas. I love it. GJ shut down finally, for reasons we as users didnt seem privy to. I know there is the original, LiveJournal. But I have never gotten started enough in that to really get in its groove.

 

        I currently blog on wordpress. It feels natural as a blogging platform to me. I have just a premade free template. However I venture to wonder if I where to ask Aaron Gerber or Charlotte perhaps to make me up a template that I could simply shange the banner on and such, but it felt nice to me, I would enjoy it more. (add this to the to do list please Humphrey (my butler)) I always have illusions of grandour that I will be come the most popular blogger online and get paid to do it full time. Not if I dont write. HA!

 

     Writing is difficult for me (I say, this has already been 12 minutes of fairly effortless journaling on a subject) because I like most artists. Think that everything I do sucks. I know this to NOT be true, but tell an artist that and we still doubt.

     In summary, I know that if I can commit just some time every night to do one of these prompts, or just write, I will get back into it. It doesnt have to be perfect. not attractive. not a short story or a poem. Heck this might make even a mighty fine blog post on my blog. Which, by the way is called “Confessions of a Neo-Hippy”

     So if this post end up on the great world wide web, Give a shout out as to why you read my blog, and/ or some ideas for me to write on. Ask me my thoughts on anything, nothing is too far out there. I might have to passord lock it for content and then hand out the password. but hey. Ask me. I Love journalistic nerdy stuff.

Peace out!

 

Leave a Reply

