-confessions of an ALMOST-Minimalist-

Consumerism.

I would consider my husband and I to be pretty close to ‘minimalists’. I am not going o go all in and say we are full on, because we do have a fair amount of money invested in our animals. But other than that, we are pretty close. I have a small array of clothing that can all be layered, mixed, matched, etc to make many outfits. Most (95%) is used. We just signed a new lease for a house in a small town in north-northland,Mo. It is huge, if you ask us. about 1000-1200sq ft. 3 bedrooms, bath,kitchen,dining room, living room, laundry room and porch. there is an old furnace that at the current temps of 11 degrees here, the furnace is doing awesome to keep the house at 65. Space heaters.

We are repainting it ourself and redoing the wood floor to save a large amount on a deposit. It has been a blast, the friends and laughs are irreplaceble. almost enough to make me want to form a team and volenteer my time to do this for other people… provided all sillyness is included 🙂

My husband and I have two cars. Both, paid for. We are considering a third, a second ‘economy car’. But we dont have it.

Thrift stores? Used things? DIY? We love that stuff!

Homeschooling is on my agenda, no secret I am sure. As is breast feeding as long as I can, co-sleeping, and cloth diapers. All things I consider important, oh yes, and a paid for home birth with midwife (thanks missouri for letting that be a legal choice for me.) Baby wearing, attachment parenting. No cry-it-out, no physical undo punishment.

I am excited for living near an amish village – less need for big chain stores and more chances to buy in bulk. I right now, am supposed to be working on a meal plan (HA!). I love meal planning, you can save lots of money.

We get by on one decent salary, no debt, no credit cards. Its either we have the cash… or we dont. I shop at aldi. I buy in bulk. I work 15 hours or so at a day care, its our spending money. We dont do without. We also dont have excess.

I hope the baby we hope to have this year grows up with an appreciation for what we have been blessed with and not whining about WHY s/he has to SHARE the room with his or her same gendered sibling… (I will flat out inform them to DEAL)

Welcome to our new life Harmon clan, We are waiting for you to decide to arrive Litte One (that means… you need to be concieved first 🙂

One thought on “-confessions of an ALMOST-Minimalist-

  1. Robert Cox says:

    You need to read “The Divine Commodity: Discovering a Faith beyond Consumer Christianity” by Skye Jethani

    It’s a book about how we have become such a commodity driven society that we have even begun to package and sell Christ. Leaving only those things in the faith that appeal to and attract the masses. It’s really an amazing read and points out that being a “minimalist” as you call it, is often more difficult although I think most see it as a simpler life style, it can be much more challenging to us emotionally and spiritually. What am I to do without all the distractions? Shall I be forced to focus on self? OH NOOOOOO!!

Leave a Reply

