Monday Special – By popular Demand – Tofu and Non-Peanut Peanut sauce (Vegan)

Lat night we had an Autumn Eqinox potluck and celebration at my friend Kathy’s house. Which, was fabulous by the way. I want her back yard… and will pay someone else to keep it ;)

So for this, we where asked to bring a dish of food, a few people there are vegan or vegitarian so I tried to plan around that.

I made Tofu and Peanut Sauce as a main dish. Not only was it popular in the taste department, But the HUGE question was “HOW do you cook Tofu!” So. With out making you all wait until a friday that it comes up. I bring you – A Tofu Special!

This post > A Beginners Guide to Toe-Food Was super helpful a few months back in helping me understand Tofu. It is a mysterious food that many people like, but do not know how to make them selves. Its not really a flavor, as much as a texture.

So i went to the store (It was Walmart, Slay me) and I grabbed TWO things of EXTRA FIRM Tofu. Brought them home. And opened them. Poored out ALLL the liquid. Patted tem dry with a paper towel, squeezing a bit. and then set them up on there end to drain some more. I came back thirty minutes later and poored off about another inch of fluid. and patted them dry again.

The recipie I used (find off of pintrest)

So i made the maranaid sauce. And then I read the line where it said Marinate for 2 hours… It was 4:45pm and I had to leave at 6:20. Not happening. I should have listened to mom when she said read ahead (That requires fore thought and planning. Both abilities, I dont have…. ) So I marinated for 1 hour.
Photobucket

Michelle Said to cut them smaller next time so they marinate and fry better. Noted Michelle.

Then I pan fried them. They needed to be fried longer, but I was running out of time. So I fried until golden brown.
Photobucket

Took them out and drained on a paper towel
Photobucket

And then put them on the serving dish ready to go
Photobucket

The peanut sauce I made with Wow-Butter a non peanut alternative (I am allergic to peanuts). I added 1/4 of a cup of soy sauce and 1/2 of a cup of water. I heated it over low heat in the pan and mixed until it was well melted and mixed.

TADA!

There was no left overs… and the peanut sauce ended up on EVERYTHING – Bread, carrots, cookies, crackers, etc etc etc. It was a hit :)

One thought on “Monday Special – By popular Demand – Tofu and Non-Peanut Peanut sauce (Vegan)

  1. Michelle says:

    So tasty thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

